Is this Martin Koa or Mahogany?

robinfowler

Reaction score
Looking for an expert opinion. Is this old Martin Koa or Mahogany. I thought it was M but seems too light in color and the grain seems different.

S1 on the left for reference (new Mahogany).

I'm no expert, but that looks like mahogany to me.

John Colter.

I'm no expert, but that looks like mahogany to me.

John Colter.

I definitely agree with John, looks like mahogany for sure.

Yeap, a Martin Style 2M (mahogany).

Jim

Has that uke been re-finished at some time? It has a slightly strange look about it. It might be a photographic effect, but it doesn't look right to me.

John Colter.

Has that uke been re-finished at some time? It has a slightly strange look about it. It might be a photographic effect, but it doesn't look right to me.

John Colter.

John, these originally came in matte finish and as they age with play wear, the heavily used areas get glossy. I have a 2011 style 2K that I've played since I purchased new and it has the same patina and wear. Matte in some areas and the other areas glossy where contact and touched during playing. I think that might be what you're seeing.

Jim

Pretty sure that's mahogany.
Obviously with woods, there could be some variation in darkness/lightness depending on the particular tree it came from.

Sometimes it's the type of finish/stain that gives "mahogany" its perceived darker colour.
Do a google search on "unstained mahogany" to find many examples of lighter coloured mahogany - some look as light as Koa.

From the grain pattern, it definitely seems typical of mahogany.

Koa tends to be figured or have more variation in its wood grain pattern.

Most Martin ukes I have seen had their Mahogany stained in a dark brown colour as in the pictures. Koa has more of an orange hue, though I am not sure if the Martin K models were stained or not.