Trimming a head stock?

robinfowler

Reaction score
Silly question?

I have a kala travel uke. It has a longish headstock. Could I trim the top off the head stock? Or would this cause the head to break or ruin the sound. Just want to make it a bit shorter for travel.

I'm NOT a luthier so take everything I say with the tiniest grain of salt, but I am a woodworker. As far as I can tell, the biggest risk you'd run is trimming too close to the tuners and not having enough wood to support the north side of the tuner holes. Seriously, you would want to leave more then you think you would need. How much you need to leave I don't know. But, you'd be surprised how easily little bits of unsupported end grain can break out. With that in mind, I'm not sure if you would want to trim enough off to make it workwhile.

As far as sound, theoretically changing the weight of the instrument could make a difference, bit its such a small amount that in reality it won't make any difference. Might want to post this to the luthier forum for better advice.

Last edited:
Old Martin Backpacker had your idea (see the photo below). New ones have logo space on the top. Mahogany is easy to trim, maple is hard, according to my local guitar tech.

Personally I would not either. A gentleman saw Martin logo on the head stock in my guitar and talked to me yesterday. Logo has brought us conversation.

Two thoughts. First, are you trimming headstock to make it shorter in length for travel. If so, heed the advice above about enough wood to hold tuners. You could also get a concert version or do what I did and get a Tiny Tenor.

I played a liked the Kala travel Uke. But, I found the top heaven at headstock. If that is your thinking, buy the new Graphtech plastic planetary tuners. They will reduce your weight. This was my second though when reading the headline.