Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Hand plane recommondation for thicknessing

Default Hand plane recommondation for thicknessing

looking for my first handplane.
    wanting to thickness 4.5mm figured tops to 2.5 then hand scrap or sand smooth.

should i get a NO.4 or NO.5 jack planes? low angle jack? block planes?

any tips thanks in advance

Hand thicknessing tops, backs, sides etc sounds fun, and it is the first time but then becomes ...something other then fun if you start building a lot.

I would recommend this plane for the job you want.
    https://www.lie-nielsen.com/product/...gle-jack-plane

Even better is a drum sander.

sweet yeah I did look at that one. im still a beginner builder so planning to build 1 or two a year for hobbie during my spare time.

Quote Originally Posted by Beau Hannam Ukuleles View Post
    Hand thicknessing tops, backs, sides etc sounds fun, and it is the first time but then becomes ...something other then fun if you start building a lot.

I would recommend this plane for the job you want.
    https://www.lie-nielsen.com/product/...gle-jack-plane

Even better is a drum sander.

I'm sure the Nielsen is a very fine plane and would do the job well. However you may not want to spend so much money.

As a hobby maker, I have in the main used the tools I already had. I always prefer to use a block plane (despite having several larger planes). Having a sharp blade and removing material slowly ie correct technique is important. If you go to Youtube and enter 'thicknessing a soundboard by hand' you'll see different ways of doing it (mostly guitars) and different sized planes being used. You could start out with what you have or buy something inexpensive and see how it goes. Learning to make an instrument is a journey in finding out which methods and tools suit you.

Quote Originally Posted by tangimango View Post
    looking for my first handplane.
    wanting to thickness 4.5mm figured tops to 2.5 then hand scrap or sand smooth.