Strings for parlor guitar

Davoravo

Reaction score
Hi all

Slightly embarassed to ask this as it is a frequent question on most guitar forums. My first guitar is a vintage (late 60s or early 70s) made in Japan laminate parlor. I am pretty sure it is a Kingston but it has a different label as part of a one off factory run and shipment to Australasia.

The poor thing has had a rough life. It is the same age as me and may have nearly as much wear on the neck and body. I bought if from a bass player who was using it for slide. Being a beginner i needed easier strings and so have been playing silk and steel which has been great with finger style but terrible when strumming with a pick. Really terrible. I want to learn strumming with a pick at the moment as finger strumming was hurting my joint and i am not a great finger picker.

Over the weekend i have replaced the nasty plastic bridge with a Nubone bridge and managed to lower the action a little. I also replaced the strings with 12-53 gauge d'addario coated phosphor-bronze.

Now the top is muted and fretting on the 12s is hard work so i was planning on buying some lighter strings. I have accidentally bought both 10s and 11s on line so they are on their way to me. Which would you try first?

I realise i may not have the ideal guitar for what i want to play, but at the moment it is what i have.

Now the top is muted and fretting on the 12s is hard work so i was planning on buying some lighter strings. I have accidentally bought both 10s and 11s on line so they are on their way to me. Which would you try first?

I think 10s are first. And 8s may be better. You just need to get 008 electric guitar string. And you use 1st to 5th string of 12s.