Advice Please for Uke Group Wanting to Take First Steps Towards Amplification

hollisdwyer

UU VIP
UU VIP
Reaction score
I'm no newbie to individual instrument amplification and have had experience as a film sound recordist, but I have no experience with designing a reasonably priced sound system for the Uke group that I am currently playing with.
I would appreciate some guidance for these parameters:
Group size: 12-20 (depends on the weather)
Playing environment: Mainly indoors (medium sized rooms) but sometimes outdoors.
Some of the players have their own amps but most do not or even own instruments with pickups.
1-4 serious lead singers so require voice mics. (I have always like the Shure SM58).
I'm thinking a PA, a small field mixer and 2-3 mics might be the most flexible way to go but would greatly appreciate all thoughts and advice from those who have faced the same requirements.
Cheers!

I have been going through live sound equipment for my 50 person uke group for a couple of years. I finally settled on this;

6 Samson mics (SM58 knockoffs)
6 Nu-X wireless mic adapters (maximum of 6 channels and why I chose six mics, also I don't want to deal with mic cables)
An 8 channel analog mixer (inexpensive with 8 XLR inputs, tried a WiFi Behringer but got too much interference)
6 mic stands that collapse very small (actually they're drum mic stands to which I added a longer boom for people)

I plug it into my Carvin Bass amp, but any P/A would work.

My mixer wireless 1024.jpg

This is Michael Kohan in Los Angeles, Beverly West near the Beverly Center
9 tenor cutaway ukes, 5 acoustic bass ukes, 11 solid body bass ukes, 11 mini electric bass guitars (Total: 35)

• Donate to The Ukulele Kids Club, they provide ukuleles to children in hospital music therapy programs. www.theukc.org
• Member The CC Strummers: YouTube: www.youtube.com/user/CCStrummers/video, Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheCCStrummers