Thread: New member w/ thru-bolt neck.

Default New member w/ thru-bolt neck.

Not quite sure how the forum works. This is my first attempt. About two months ago, I sat in on a ukulele class/jam in Key Largo and volunteered to play the instructor's Kala ubass that she had received as a gift. I had to work at compressing my fingers into the much tighter scale than my Fender Precision and not pulling the notes sharp. But, it was a lot of fun. The Kala has a good upright sound but I wanted more sustain. So, I took a block of mahogany and a 21.5" scale very short scale guitar neck and built an elec. ubass with roundwound strings and a magnetic humbucking pickup. It plays quite well (IMHO). Then, I, modified a mini-electric guitar w/ a 19" scale to become a non-re-entrant steel string tenor uke w/ an added D string on the bass end. Thus, earning the moniker, Dr. Ukenstein, from a fellow class member. Much of the building knowledge I used came from this forum. Maybe, I can some provide some unique insights, here. Dr. U.
    Last edited by Dr.Ukenstein; 10-19-2019 at 11:01 AM. Reason: Clarification

Cool!

Got pictures?
    Concert: Lanikai LU-21C (Southcoast MU)
    Soprano: Kala KA-PWS (Southcoast Machete)
    Baritone "Rennaissance Guitar": Kala KA-SBG (C-Linear with Worth BL-LGs currently.)
    Tenor: Kala ATP-CTG (Southcoast LMU-NW
    Tenor "Low G': Kala KA-FMTG (Southcoast LML-NW
    Tenor: Kala SRT-CTG-E (Southcoast LMU-NW
    Baritone "Nui": Pono NS-10 (Worth B-B)

Default Bolt on neck creations

Hope this works...
    Attached Images Attached Images

Welcome Dr. U!

Looks pretty good. Does it sound a bit elastic bandy... you know like a U-bass? Or does it have a different sound?

Between the title of the thread and your name, my brain reads "Frankenstein" every time :-p
    ~ "Music washes away the dust of everyday life" ~

Concert - (for sale) Ziegenspeck mahogany Sunburst sunrise Kanile'a KSC-C