Do Old Unused Strings Sound/Work the Same as New Strings?

Ed1

UU VIP
UU VIP
Reaction score
Will packs of 15 year old strings - nylon, nylgut, and flourocarbon - that have been kept in good humidity (40-70%) and temperature (60-80F) sound the same as brand new packs of strings when put on a ukulele?

I have been given some sets of older strings and am curious if others know the life span of unused strings. I guess part of the question could be "Is old unused fishing line as good as new fishing line?"

It really depends if they have been exposed to UV light for extended periods of time. I worked in the fishing tackle industry many moons ago and prolonged exposure to UV degraded fishing line which uke strings originate from. Put them on and see what you think

It really depends if they have been exposed to UV light for extended periods of time. I worked in the fishing tackle industry many moons ago and prolonged exposure to UV degraded fishing line which uke strings originate from. Put them on and see what you think
Thanks for the info. I still don't trust myself to know subtle differences in tone/sound which is why a asked the question of folks like you. I'm doing my ukulele beginner's best to play good ukes with good strings to help me learn what others consider good tone/sound. Also for me, a good ukulele with good strings makes practicing much more enjoyable.

If stored in a dark, cool dry place in well designed packaging, they have a storage life of many years. I still have D'Addario strings left from our shop that are over a decade old and they still look and sound great (plastic envelopes). However, silver wound strings stored in paper packaging will tarnish badly due to the acid content of the paper. Nylon seems to be less sensitive to paper but I've only tried a few singles over a decade old (they were fine).

Oh oh, if those older strings sound great, there will be another issue to discuss
in relation to ukulele strings... 'aged' strings.