Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Help me choose a new baritone ukulele up to $300

Default Help me choose a new baritone ukulele up to $300

Hello to all. I am new to the sport of ukulele. And new to musical instruments in general. Although I did have a ukulele as a young child, but never advanced to any extent.
    My goal is to learn the instrument, and buy a quality instrument that will make learning more fun and continue to motivate me as I progress. I have a habit of accumulating more of any certain thing that I want or need, and that seems contradictory of the travel-light attitude that the ukulele itself presents. So I have come here seeking advice.

I have considered purchasing a Makala MK-B bundle with the hard zippered foam case. And even a Kmise. But I don't care for the plastic parts, and know I would be wanting something better as soon as I got it. But this could be just what I need as a bottom of the barrel option, if I were to eventually have two baritone ukes. And the case itself looks to be of a high enough quality. But I really think I'd like to jump right in for something more of a mid-level uke, which might be a lifetime uke for me.

I have an idea of what I like. Mainly quality components. But am not knowledgeable enough to have any hard and fast requirements, except that I want a baritone uke. And my upper limit is pretty set at under $300. But I might be happy with something closer to $150.

A wide neck profile. Wide nut.
    I like the look of a slotted headstock.
    Don't care for painted on logos. Although at my price range this appears to be an unavoidable consequence.
    I also prefer a solid headstock without laminate. Again this may be something I have to accept in my price range.
    Quality tuners are a must.
    I want something of a traditional look. So matching top, sides, and back. In a medium or dark color. So no spruce top.
    And a deep or woody sound I believe. Nothing too bright.