Bari Uke Madness.$5 Acoustic & $25 Solid Body Electric starter kits

old and slow

Reaction score
Picked this pair up for thirty bones.

Gonna do a little convertin, and maybe some paintin.
Both have 20.25" scale and 42mm nut. Which is in the ballpark for where I want all my collection to be. Being a beginner, I have found that four strings on a medium-wide neck are easiest for me to play chords on. And if they're all tuned the same, then I can more easily switch between them

I still like to have a little collection. A little variety. Especially since I don't really have a considerable amount invested in this plot yet. But I'm headed towards having a half dozen wide neck DGBE tuned baritone ukes and tenor guitars. And then off with the rest of the six strings.

The First Act FG125 is the lowest of low:D But appears to be a pre-plastic all wood model. Not sure if that's good or bad, as I've recently noticed a upward trend in popularity for plastic outdoor ukes. Geared tuners, but the knobs slip.
Still don't intend to put any money into it to start. Just use what I have on hand. If I grow attached to it, maybe I'll find some used electronics for it.

The Harmony baby strat, I believe, was similarly low budget when new. Although it has slightly more charm and style in my eyes.
But I was really looking for the slightly larger Squier Mini-Stat for a tenor guitar conversion.

Attachments

• 20191211_212239~2.jpg
    20191211_212239~2.jpg
    91.2 KB · Views: 64
Last edited:
I like the looks of that Harmony. It looks like like Vorson electric uke.

Thanks! Haha! Yeah, just going out and buying a Vorson might have been the smart and easy thing to do. But I was drawn in by the 42mm nut and potentially wider string spacing.

This old Harmony has mismatched strings, though I have managed to tune it with careful tension adjustments. And I haven't decided what strings I want to use yet. Probably either all steel, or all flourocarbon.