Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Can I buy and store strings?

Default Can I buy and store strings?

Hello.
    This is my first post. I'm a total beginner and I would like to know if I can store ukulele strings. As they are non metal, I think they wouldn't get too old and dry if I keep them in a proper place.
    Thanks in advance!

Welcome to Ukulele Underground!

I've kept ukulele strings for periods of ten years or more, unused, and there was no sign of deterioration. Fitted to a uke, I've known strings remain perfectly useable for more than five years - but I don't necessarily recommend it..........

John Colter

ps. Just to be clear - I'm talking about synthetic materials, not animal based products.

The only strings I can think of that would “suffer” from being stored and not used immediately would be Aquila’s new Gut strings. Since these aren’t synthetic material, they are supposed to have a shorter shelf-life.

That said, the tone from them is wonderfully rich.
    Current UAS fallout:

Ohana SK-21A — ‘10s L. Nunes Ukulele 0 Hawaii Soprano — 1918-19 Martin 2M Soprano — ‘60s Kamaka ‘Keiki’ Soprano — ‘70s Kamaka White Label Soprano — Blue Frog Soprano — aNueNue Moon Bird US200 — Ohana SK-30L — Cocobolo Concert #382 (teak!) — Outdoor Ukulele Carbon Tenor — ‘50s Harmony Baritone

Mead Ambassador/Horticulturist at Heidrun Meadery since 2017

Teaching Music Together since 2019

Thanks for your reply. I want to avoid frustration and have a spare kit with me. I'm sure I'll need to change the strings at odd hours when the music shop is closed.

I asked this question not too long ago because I had some 10 year old strings given to me. The consensus was if kept at a reasonable temperature and out of the sun, there shouldn't be a problem. I'm using one of the 10 year old packs and they sound good to me.