David Hanson Kiku Build

rlgph

Reaction score
This is my first entry chronicling the custom build of a Kiku by David Hanson (forum username tukanu). The instrument is to have a koa baritone body, 20" scale length, and 5 strings. My intention is to tune it aDGBE, like the first five strings of a guitar, but with a re-entrant A string.

I'm primarily a mediocre fingerstyle guitarist. However, i've had a fascination for 5-string instruments for quite a while (see my recent thread "An Alternative 5 String"). Recently i purchased an Ohana 5 string Tenor uke, and have become enamoured of the mellow sound of nylon-like strings, although i don't like the double course sound. Thus, a kiku seems like a good combination of these interests.

Anyway, since this is a new build thread, i'll include a photo of the wood that is to become the body of the new instrument:

https://rlgreene.net/Kiku/KoaBodyWood.jpg

Feel free to express your opinions.

Last edited:
I like this idea! It's kind of a big brother to mine, tenor dGCEA. Do you have strings picked out yet?

Uke strings are pretty much unexplored territory for me, so i'll be looking forward to suggestions as time passes. I like clarity (who doesn't) and sustain.

BTW, i notice you're in Rayleigh. I live about an hour north of Asheville, near Burnsville.

Last edited:
One option for all unwound strings would be a custom Living Water set. But the D string is really fat and will not sustain well as you go up the neck. If you want a warm tone and most stick low on the neck, it would work. I'm kinda guessing you wouldn't like it.

There are many options for baritone DGBE. The high 'a' string is gonna be the tricky one. You'll need to look for GCEA baritone sets most likely. Actually the best approach might be a GCEA set and then get a single for the low D like the Thomastik Infeld flatwound CF35 (I think).

This is such a cool idea, looking forward to seeing how it will turn out.