Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: David Hanson Kiku Build

Default David Hanson Kiku Build

This is my first entry chronicling the custom build of a Kiku by David Hanson (forum username tukanu). The instrument is to have a koa baritone body, 20" scale length, and 5 strings. My intention is to tune it aDGBE, like the first five strings of a guitar, but with a re-entrant A string.

I'm primarily a mediocre fingerstyle guitarist. However, i've had a fascination for 5-string instruments for quite a while (see my recent thread "An Alternative 5 String"). Recently i purchased an Ohana 5 string Tenor uke, and have become enamoured of the mellow sound of nylon-like strings, although i don't like the double course sound. Thus, a kiku seems like a good combination of these interests.

Anyway, since this is a new build thread, i'll include a photo of the wood that is to become the body of the new instrument:

https://rlgreene.net/Kiku/KoaBodyWood.jpg

Feel free to express your opinions.
    Last edited by rlgph; 12-30-2019 at 12:59 PM.

I like this idea! It's kind of a big brother to mine, tenor dGCEA. Do you have strings picked out yet?
    Ukulele:
    Iriguchi Tenor "Weeble" - A, WoU Clarity
    Blue Star 19" baritone Konablaster - DGBE
    Cocobolo 16" SC#1-gCEA, SC SLMU
    Ono #42 19" baritone, Ab, LW
    Imua iET-Bb, M600
    Covered Bridge CLN pineapple - Eb cuatro, SC XLL
    Rogue bari
    Bonanza super tenor, cFAD SC LHU
    Kala KSLNG, Eb SC XLU
    Hanson 5-string tenor, dGCEA
    Bonanza SLN GCEA
    Bonanzalele concert
    Guitars:
    Jupiter #47, G, TI CF127
    Pelem, A, EJ45LP

!Flukutronic!

Uke strings are pretty much unexplored territory for me, so i'll be looking forward to suggestions as time passes. I like clarity (who doesn't) and sustain.

BTW, i notice you're in Rayleigh. I live about an hour north of Asheville, near Burnsville.
    Last edited by rlgph; 12-29-2019 at 07:47 AM.