Which beginner Uke? Kala vs Luna

anorak

Reaction score
Hi. I’d appreciate opinions on which ukulele to buy. I’m a total beginner and have narrowed my search to two at my local Guitar Center - the Luna Vintage Mahogany Soprano and the Kala KA-15S Mahogany Soprano. I understand at this price point this is only entry level, but I am only going to record at home with it (no live performances) so I’m really interested in the best sounding and most durable instrument of the two. Does anyone have any experience with either to help me compare? Thanks in advance for any advice you can offer. I am not familiar with either brand as I'm very new to ukuleles. Thanks.

There is a clear path here: You need to go in and try both of them and decide which you like better. No one's opinion on this forum will be as valuable as actually trying them so that you can hear the sound and feel how it plays.

I agree you should try both. From experience and impartial reviews, Kala has a reputation for making higher-quality instruments, but I know several people with Lunas who really like them. I have a Makala concert (Kala's entry-level brand) I bought used and I really like it, FWIW.

My first ukulele was a lower model Kala and I loved it. I've heard some negative reviews on Lunas in the past, but maybe they've improved. As was mentioned, give them both a try and see what you think.

Thanks so much everyone. My local Guitar Center doesn't have them in stock unfortunately - they have to be shipped. But your advice has been very helpful. I was leaning towards the Kala and still am. Thank you all.

I have a Kala and a Luna. They are very similar in quality. My Luna was bought with a setup, and plays like a dream. The Kala was shipped right from the manufacturer, and was set up surprisingly well from the factory. I say go with the one the strikes your fancy, which seems to be the Kala.