Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Which beginner Uke? Kala vs Luna

Default Which beginner Uke? Kala vs Luna

Hi. I’d appreciate opinions on which ukulele to buy. I’m a total beginner and have narrowed my search to two at my local Guitar Center - the Luna Vintage Mahogany Soprano and the Kala KA-15S Mahogany Soprano. I understand at this price point this is only entry level, but I am only going to record at home with it (no live performances) so I’m really interested in the best sounding and most durable instrument of the two. Does anyone have any experience with either to help me compare? Thanks in advance for any advice you can offer. I am not familiar with either brand as I'm very new to ukuleles. Thanks.

There is a clear path here: You need to go in and try both of them and decide which you like better. No one's opinion on this forum will be as valuable as actually trying them so that you can hear the sound and feel how it plays.

I agree you should try both. From experience and impartial reviews, Kala has a reputation for making higher-quality instruments, but I know several people with Lunas who really like them. I have a Makala concert (Kala's entry-level brand) I bought used and I really like it, FWIW.
    PLAYERS: Martin C1K • Enya Nova U concert (BLUE!) • Ohana CK-50WG concert (solid cedar top) • Ohana SK-28 ‘Nunes’ • Flea koa soprano • Ohana SK-35G solid mahogany soprano <yay!!> • Famous FS-1 <yippee!!> • Firefly maple concert banjolele <yee-haw!> • Makala MK-CE concert
    LOOKERS: • Vintage 'Mauna Loa' c. 1925 soprano • Kahuna "Felix the Cat" soprano • Woodrow "Steelers" soprano <eyeroll>

Raleigh Uke Jam:

My YouTube page

My first real uke was a Kala and I was very happy with it. jimuke.jpg

My first ukulele was a lower model Kala and I loved it. I've heard some negative reviews on Lunas in the past, but maybe they've improved. As was mentioned, give them both a try and see what you think.
    Glenn