Thread: Greetings from the Bay Area

Default Greetings from the Bay Area

Hello all,

I am a life-long professional musician and have recently bought myself a quality Hawaiian ukulele. I have mainly played string instruments professionally (double bass, electric bass, mandolin, classical guitar, acoustic and electric guitar). I started out on trumpet and percussion. Then I took classical guitar lessons which got me going with strings. In high school and college I dabbled in trombone, saxophones, accordion and keyboards.

I have been playing double bass, mandolin, and accordion with the Crooked Jades lately and they use banjos and ukes extensively which got me thinking of getting a uke for myself. I look forward to absorbing all the knowledge here!

Welcome to UU
    Grandma Uker Penny

You may want to try Oakland Uke Jam on facebook if you want a group to play with (not sure where in the BA you are). They play some more advanced stuff and with your background you may really like it. They meet weekly.
    Welcome to the forum!

Welcome! What city are you living in?

I was born and raised in San Rafael, played trombone in high school band and marching band. Great place to live and grow up!

Exactly, what city are you living in?
    There is a group in Pinole, CA
    There is a group that meets at Music Works in El Cerrito, CA

Welcome!

Welcome Elmaestro!

Welcome to UU!