Recommendations: Soprano Pineapple Ukulele for studio recording

KevinTJH

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I own a collection of ukuleles (both Sopranos and Baritones), but I don't really have anything I would consider "High end".

I'm looking to hit the recording studio to do a ukulele album.
Since I'll be using very high end equipment to record this, it'd be a waste if I didn't use a spectacular sounding instrument to match that.

What are some of my options (Pineapple Soprano specifically) within the under $500 mark?

PS: I'm absolutely OK with something used, even if it's old and worn out. Prioritising sound and playability over aesthetics.

Many thanks!

Last edited:
I sometimes see used Kamaka pineapples on eBay or Reverb at a decent price. Maybe you could find a good deal.

I have no experience with them myself, but I've heard good things about Mele ukuleles. I think they sell primarily through eBay, and a quick search right now for Mele pineapple soprano brings up two new ones at your price range. An all koa model at $499 and an all mahogany one at $299.

I think used is a great way to get higher end ukuleles, but in my experience, old Kamakas are hit or miss in sound, and I would want to play the specific uke I was going to purchase before buying.

Mainland also comes to mind well within your budget. I haven't tried their mango models (although I hear good things), but I'd recommend their cedar/rosewood over their mahogany ukuleles.

Last edited:
I started to edit my comment, but just decided to make another post.