Thumb Plectrum Recommendations?

Harmony Smurf

Reaction score
Hello and thanks in advance for any insights you all can give.

I have soft nails and can't grow them out on my strumming hand. Even on my thumb. My fingerstyle picking isn't with the PIMA fingers but just with my thumb. I have been doing it this way for about 3 years now and don't want to change. I tried to learn PIMA style arpeggios multiple times but I still failed. That is why I am looking at getting a good thumb plectrum. I only play in my music studio so I am not worried about losing it so I was thinking of getting a premium one. I am also hoping for a more consistent higher volume when plucking in a way that would work for me.

This is the one I am thinking of after a couple days of looking around:
http://shop.bluechippick.net/bct-jdl/
I am thinking this might be the one for me as the pick length is short. I hypothesize that a shorter pick would be easier to transition to than a long one.

Anyone try this one out or have a different one to recommend?

I'm mainly a thumb picker, I tried quite a few thumb picks, but could never get one to shape up right, I need it at the top left edge of my thumb nail, & none of them covered that area, even tried reshaping the angles of them, with no joy.

So what I learned to do was to semi lift the string as I puck it, by putting my thumb slightly under the string. I also use this method when I arpeggiate chords with my finger tips.

The leader of our jam modifies a thumb pick by cutting down the point and filling in with paper and duct tape. He gets the flexibility of felt in a pick that’ll stay in place. It’s weird, but it works for him.