Buying problem: Kamaka or Kanile'a?

Loska

Reaction score
I'm fairly new in this lovely forum. I have been reading a lot and absorbing information as much as I can. This is my very first post!

Last year I just picked up an ukulele in my classroom (I'm a teacher) and it was love immediately. Within a week I purchased my very own first ukulele and since then I just can't put it down. I have been taking ukulele classes and I practise when ever I can. Every day.

I'm a very trorough person so I have studied A LOT about ukulele. And very early on I had this idea that maybe, if this love for ukulele sticks around, I would get my self a Kanile'a K1 (or any other Hawaiian made koa ukulele, but Kanile'a speaks to me somehow the most). But so far I have not been able to justify the price. And I don't have an opportunity to try different K brands, or practically any all solid wood instruments here where I live. So I have to buy online.

Sorry for this long long story, I'll get to the point. It happens that I have been given an opportunity to buy a used Kamaka HF-3 tenor. It's made in 2015 and it is practically like new. Seldom used and in great condition. And half the price of a new Kamaka tenor!

I have listened every sound sample that I could find. Sometimes I love the Kanile'a sound, sometimes Kamaka wins, sometimes I find KoAlohas the best. And have read all the reviews and opinions and got my self a bit confused.

So I think I'll go for Kamaka. But will Kanile'a always be at the back of my head whispering?

Welcome to UU, Loska!