Opinions on Samson Meteor USB Mic

colemole

Reaction score
I am considering doing some audio recording during this Time of self Isolation. What are the opinions on the Samson Meteor USB Mic for accomplishing this? Is there a good program to video and audio at the same time?
I have no experience with this adventure so would prefer not to have to spend too much cash given the uncertainty these days.

Thanks

In reading my post I thought more information would be helpful. I have a laptop with a camera. A Lenovo T500. Not the latest laptop but works fine for my needs.

The Samson meteor is definately usable to record music for home use/ YouTube, and is probably decent for it's price range.
If you look in the sub forum Ukulele Contests / Seasons of the Ukulele, you will find videos recorded for YouTube. I believe that YorkSteve's videos are recorded with a Samson meteor, so you can get an idea of the sound.

I use a Blue Yeti, which is a more expensive USB microphone, and the more dedicated people use a USB interface that they plug an ordinary microphone into.
If you are looking for good usb mics for pc, Rode and Audio Technica are also well renowned, but like the Blue Yeti these mics are like three times the price of the meteor.

I am not sure if you just want software to grab the audio and video from your usb mic and webcam, or something to edit/record multiple tracks.
I record video and video separately and sync them afterwards in a video editor. But if you are doing one track with no effects and using the webcam, there is probably an easier way.

Last edited:
When recording Audio, I have mostly been using Audacity. It is completely free. It allows you to record one track at a time, adjust volume etc. and export to wav or mp3.
It is not really a DAW (digital audio workstation), and when it comes to putting in midi stuff and addibg reverb and stuff, I wouldnt recommend it.