Brand new ukulele action/ neck question

BlackBess

Reaction score
92240936_280685599595646_7481927282689310720_n.jpg92451611_216938182907583_5708888856468652032_n.jpg92579804_154087869296521_3044662347168743424_n.jpg

Hi!

I'm new to the forum and largely new to the world of ukeleles.

Bit of a back story and introduction about myself before I get in to it but if you can't be bothered to read all that (don't blame you) then just scroll down to 'THE CHASE'.

I've been playing guitar on and off for about 15 years so I took to it quite quickly and I'm loving every minute.

I was gifted one of those cheap £15-20 soprano ukes which seemed a bit of fun before it went back in the box. Anyway, it came out at a party one night and since then I've been looking up more songs and styles and started really improving.

So my next step was to upgrade for which I bought a tenor because of the larger dimensions (I'm 6'2" with large hands). I went for a Gear4Music own branded Koa Tenor ukelele - okay, on that note please don't hate me for my choice of purchase. I have a G4M bass guitar that I'm really happy with and my budget wouldn't allow me to splash out. Anyway, for £60 it seems wonderful so far. Looks great, sounds really good and not a lot to complain about.

Okay, time to cut down to...

THE CHASE

A few days later I start noticing the action further down the neck seems high. The ukelele is tuned to standard G4C4E4a4 and it took a lot of re-tuning before it started to hold its tune but I expected that to be normal for a new instrument with soft strings.

I put a straight edge against it (a ruler with notches in it that I use to check the necks of my guitars for adjustment). I notice that the neck essentially points at an angle ending up towards the bottom of the bridge. The distance above the top of the 12th fret looks to be about 3.5-4mm.

I'm reluctant to send the instrument back straight away because I really like it and I don't want to do that if I can sort this easily.