Mastering difficult chord changes

AnonymousLou

Reaction score
Hi, there- I am mostly self taught and have managed to master most of the beginner chords (C,G, F Am, A, G7, G6, D7, A7 E7, Emin, Gmin,etc) and am moving on to more difficult chords that require more use of the left hand and am finding mastering the chord changes between the more difficult chords somewhat of a challenge.
Does anyone have any advice for how I could improve my chord changes on some of the harder chords?
Thanks,
-Lou

When you first started, most of the shapes were unfamiliar, some more difficult than others. Practice and repetition was the key then and remains so now. Take your time. You will get there.

Download Uncle Rod's Bootcamp and practice the progressions very slowly. This will also give you an opportunity to listen to the various "sounds". With time, you'll get better, and faster. It worked for me.

Hi, there- I am mostly self taught and have managed to master most of the beginner chords (C,G, F Am, A, G7, G6, D7, A7 E7, Emin, Gmin,etc) and am moving on to more difficult chords that require more use of the left hand and am finding mastering the chord changes between the more difficult chords somewhat of a challenge.
Does anyone have any advice for how I could improve my chord changes on some of the harder chords?
Thanks,
-Lou

"Hard" is a relative term. In the beginning, I almost quit over the G chord. I just couldn't get my fingers to go there, but now, it's second nature. I watch good players as they form difficult chords without a second thought. It's simply a matter of practice. I can give you one tip, though, and I've heard this from many instructors. If you're having trouble forming a tough chord quickly, use an easier version - G7, F7, etc. If the chord is in the same family, it won't sound awful.