How to play this chords?

Pennyblack

Reaction score
Hello everybody,

I'm very new to Ukulele and a bit overwhelmed. Could you tell me how to play these chords? Especially for the second chord, idk how to stretch my finger that much? Or maybe I'm reading the tabs wrongly - what does the sign before the numbers mean? Maybe somebody has a list of special tab signs.. Many thanks in advance!

Always,
Penny

Attachments

• 1.png
    1.png
    2.8 KB · Views: 16
  • 2.png
    2.png
    2.3 KB · Views: 14
Hi Penny,

the squiggly line means you play an arpeggio, which means you don't rapidly strum the chord but gently play one note after the other, in a rolling cascade. The first chord, I would play with the pinkie on fret 7 of the first (bottom string when u look at it holding it), the index finger on fret 3 of the second string, and the middle finger pushing down on fret 3 and 4 together -- this might take some practice, though, and I would suggest practicing different chords first if you are a beginner.
The second chord is really a big stretch, and I find it rather exotic. If you do not insist on this particular sound, you can play the same chord with this variation if I got my notes right: 0-2-2-0 (outer strings open, the two middle strings held at fret 2). I have small hands, and I would be hard pressed to do that chord, although I would manage. Again, as a beginner, I would start with other chords first and expand my chord repertoire slowly, adding fingers and spaces between fret locations slowly.
Our main publishing organ, the ukulele magazine, has a good article on ukulele notation which I recommend: https://www.ukulelemag.com/stories/notation.
Just keep practicing, and all will be good :)

Last edited:
Hi Penny,
These are probably not ideal chords for beginners to be practicing. I was able to manage them on a tenor, so they are reachable, but it would be difficult for small or unpracticed hands.