U Bass ???

RIng

Reaction score
Hi all . Hope all is well . I have been playing ukulele for about 4 months . I play mostly Baritone . I am thinking of getting a U Bass . If you play both , how often do you play the bass ? Do you play it by itself and sing along ? What are your thoughts on the U Bass ? Thanks

Oh Miiiiike! :p

I play ubass, not all that well, but Ive been trying to replace MIDI bass lines in my projects with ubass.

I play a couple hours everyday. I love my baritone but I write music on bass. It’s been a revelation for me. I work with a really talented guitarist, multi-instrumentalist and similar people, percussionists among them. I write bass lines, in a jazzy, funky, rocky, exploratory manner and I let my partners harmonize the parts. I am an okay jazz rhythm baritone player but these guys I write with are really talented. They really like my bass ideas and I love what they do with them.
So, bass is easier for me to express my ideas. I’m deep into learning as much as I can. I’ve found this wonderful course which I’ve promoted here on UU called Chord Tone Lessons by Tomasz Ziobro. If you want to become good in any style start working to be a walking bassist. Ed Friedland’s basic courses are great too and will get you reading standard notation quickly.

The Tomasz Ziobro walking bass lessons are giving me the formal training I lack and they’re FREE. However I do seem to have native talent which I wish to enrich as much as possible. Coltrane said the more you know the more you can blow.

Oh yeah, big yeah, google Rondo music and get an inexpensive Hadean. They’re great acoustic with electronics or solid body.

Last edited:
I’m strongly considering getting a ubass. Once I’m reasonably proficient I plan on playing it at our monthly uke jams. I’ll have plenty of time to practice before they start back up.