Acoustic Guitar to Baritone Ukulele

TaoJones

Reaction score
Hello . . . I'm new to both the ukulele and this Forum, but happy to have found this site.

Many years ago I played guitar, but in 1989 I had an operation on the little finger of my left hand that resulted in the fusion of the finger's middle joint. The operation was successful in correcting an old football injury and making the finger look human again (it had stuck out sideways at that middle joint for years).

But it ended my guitar playing.

I recently learned about the baritone ukulele, and wondered if it might not give me the best chance to play music again. The more I considered it, the more I wanted to give it a try. I ordered a Kala KA-B that should be here soon and I'm looking forward to giving this an earnest shot.

If anyone has any good advice to give me, please do so. And I have a pretty thick skin, so I can take your well-intentioned criticism if you truly think I'm kidding myself. I'm hopeful of a good result, of course, but don't yet know what I don't know.

TIA for any words of wisdom you care to provide.

TJ

Last edited:
If you are determined to play,and your finger does not pain you too much, then go for it! You may be surprised at how well it goes, as Baritone strings are gentler to fret than normal guitar strings. And you always have options. Like open tunings, and playing with a barre on all four strings? You never know until you have a go. Good luck with your attempts,and I hope they reward you!

If you are determined to play,and your finger does not pain you too much, then go for it! You may be surprised at how well it goes, as Baritone strings are gentler to fret than normal guitar strings. And you always have options. Like open tunings, and playing with a barre on all four strings? You never know until you have a go. Good luck with your attempts,and I hope they reward you!