Koaloha KTM-00 or aNueNue UT200

Md99

Reaction score
Hey all, I've already spoken to a couple forum members about this, which has been incredibly helpful, so I decided to open the question to this broader group.

I'm fairly new to ukulele but loving it and decided to get an upgraded uke and go with a tenor size. I've narrowed it down to the 2 in the title after watching tons of youtube videos, searching the forums, etc.

Which would you purchase as your first big upgrade? I have an inexpensive kala soprano and a solid-top tenor cordoba.

I'm only a few months in so don't really have much of a style yet. I have large hands so generally prefer some spacing between strings. Besides that, I just want a great overall uke.

I'm only a few months in so don't really have much of a style yet. I have large hands so generally prefer some spacing between strings. Besides that, I just want a great overall uke.

Welcome aboard. Great choice in ukes. Both are ukes I have eyeballing hardcore for a while now. I personally don't have either of these but I believe the Koaloha has a 1.5 inch nut width and I think the Anuenue is slightly narrower at 1 3/8. So the Koaloha is slightly wider. But maybe a Anuenue owner can speak on this.

I think this will boil down to a personal preference of the sound and looks. I don't think you would wrong with either. Just an FYI mim's has a handful of the old KTM-00's (like from a few months ago before they redesigned it) for a little over a thousand. Killer deal for a brand new KTM-00.

Last edited:
Thanks! I started my desire to get a tenor thinking I'd spend around $100 but now research and reading forums like these have led me to justifying the $1000+ :) I'm excited to get one; whichever I choose.

Yes, the Koaloha has a wide 38mm nut, but has fingerboard binding, with frets starting inside that, so the string spread (a more important measurement, IMO) is only 27mm from G to A. 27mm is the same as many cheap import ukes with only 35mm nuts.