Fitting fretboard to body

ChuckBarnett

Reaction score
I am building a bolt-on tenor uke. When I set the fretboard onto the bolted on neck I'm seeing a 0.007" (feeler gauge) gap between the underside of the fretboard and the top, just north of the soundhole. That gap tightens up as you slide the gauge closer to the neck. As a noob, I think I need to get that gap to pretty much zero so that the fretboard lies flat against the top.

Complicating this is that I've done a radiussed top (I know, I know...)

I'm also concerned that if the angle of the top of the fretboard and the ukukele top isn't open enough, there may not be much height for the strings over the saddle. (I could slip a laminate layer between the neck and fretboard...)

I have yet to install frets and hesitate to go further until I solve this question.

Any help for the boy??

How bad is the gap right at the neck joint? Does it seem to go away when the fretboard is pressed down near the soundhole? It seems like you have a slight case of drop-off, which many builders consider as desirable. Place a straight edge on the first 12-14 fret slots and measure the gap where the bridge/saddle will sit. Or just slide your bridge under there. It shouldn't quite fit.

I keep a faux fingerboard on hand with frets 1 and 12 in position, rather than using a fretless board as you are doing. When clamped to the mounted neck the straight edge should just sit on top of the positioned bridge. You seem to have a bit of back set in the neck, which might require a saddle too high to be attractive. I hope I'm not misreading your problem.

Thanks, for your help!