Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First time stringing a uke--not good

Default First time stringing a uke--not good

The A string broke on the Kamoa Grand Concert uke I've had for a couple of months. I randomly bought a set of Martin M610 Graphite Gray Polygut strings and have been attempting to restring all 4 strings. I've restrung guitars many times, but only steel strings so this is my first time using nylon. I haven't had a problem with the C and E strings but the high G snapped, even though it was 3-4 frets from being in tune. Fortunately there was enough string left so I got it on okay the second try. I was just in the last steps of fine tuning all the strings when the A string broke in half. I had been working very slowly for 15-20 minutes to allow the strings to stretch as they got closer to being in tune. What could I have done differently?

Did you make sure that you got strings for the correct size uke? Also check nut for sharp corners. Maybe take it slow getting to tune, uke strings can take weeks to settle into tension. Also compare to your guitar and make sure you are not going an extra octave higher.

Thanks for the advice Merlin. My uke and the strings are both concert. I'll be more aware of the nut sharp corners next time, although the he A string broke at around the second fret. I don't know if the break in the string could have stretched to the nut under tension (2 inches?) but that's not that far from the nut. I'll also let the uke sit for an hour or so before I get it closer than 5 frets from in tune. I was using an online tuner and constantly checked the strings with the right notes.

The grand concert has a 16" scale, I think. Getting close to Tenor territory. If you keep having issues, maybe Tenor strings would help, but first I'd check for sharp edges as merlin suggested.
    Glenn

Quote Originally Posted by glennerd View Post