Best tuner for ukes?

dcw uke

Reaction score
I'm a beginner with no previous experience with any musical instrument. Really loving my uke as a Father's Day gift (Kala KA-SMHCE-E).
I've started a YouTube channel to document my progress and share tidbits I'm learning. Made the mistake of purchasing a cheap, no name tuner on Amazon, then spent $2 more for a Snark. What a difference. My uke has a built in tuner, but still prefer the Snark. Any other recommendations on tuning for a beginner?

If you search the forum, this question comes up regularly! 'Best Tuner' is subjective; the tuner one player loves may be disliked by many others. If your Snark works for you, then stick with it for a while. And learn 'relative tuning', where you tune ONE string from a tuner or tuning fork, (Usually 'A') and then tune the other strings by ear from that string. Again, many threads about this and if in doubt, Internet search is your friend!
Don't get too hung up on 'exact tuning'; so long as your instrument sounds okay to YOU and you can play/sing along with it, then unless you plan to play with a group of players, that is plenty good enough! In a group/club situation you will need your Snark, as one instrument out of whack with the rest will stand out like a sore thumb! Just enjoy your instrument, get familiar with it, and play away.

Snarks always struck me as too big (for my taste). I prefer Planet Waves NS Micro Tuners or, better yet, their sound hole tuners. That’s what I always ask for when relatives want to get me something ukulele-themed.

The Snark is hard to beat. It has a good price, it's large enough to see easily, and it's fast. There are some tuners that are very small and some that supposedly give you more information, but you can't go wrong with a Snark. I have a bunch of them lying around, as well as other brands, so one is always handy.

The Snark is a fine choice. Can't go wrong with that.