Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Is there a danger in having button straps put on my uke?

Smile Is there a danger in having button straps put on my uke?

I'm new to the uke and recently acquired a Kala KA-SMHCE-E. I love it and having great fun learning the instrument. Only thing I don't like about it is that it doesn't have button straps. I know that there are other types of straps that can be used, but I'm not a fan. I'm wondering if there's a danger in taking it to my local music store to have buttons installed? Would it somehow compromise the instrument?

The only potential negative side effect would be a result of poor shop work. Beyond that, it’s fine.

The only risk of having buttons fitted is that you'll be able to fit a strap and then play much more easily
    However, I'd suggest only having one button installed initially, at the end of the instrument, fastening the other end of the strap to the top of the neck. On a relatively small instrument like a ukulele, having the strap fastened at the base of the neck (heel) can make things a little cramped if playing "up the neck". There's always the opportunity to go back for a second button if you eventually decide it's what you would prefer

Inevitably - YMMV -
    There are those who will wax lyrical about the ability to play a double shuffle with a split fan and a tight G-string ...
    it just makes me walk funny!

There is no downside to having strap buttons fitted to your uke. It doesn't change the value of it. Or affect the beauty of your instrument. They might even enhance it.

If you have a Hard case, it might be tight to fit your uke into it with buttons installed. Put the butt in first then lower the neck into place will usually solve it.

It makes playing a lot easier.
    There is a subtle yet profound difference between the learning of something and the knowing of that thing.
    You can learn by reading, but you don’t begin to know until you begin to try to do.