Fretting with thumb

Dbhughes

Reaction score
I am brand new to ukulele and was wondering if is ever acceptable to reach around with your thumb to fret notes? I tried doing a search and only found posts about thumb strumming. In my case, I am talking about the E chord. The only way I can get all 4 stings to ring true is to use middle finger on 2nd fret A string, pinky on 3rd fret E string, ring finger on 3rd fret C string and then I reach around with my thumb to fret the G# at the first fret of G string. Is this a ridiculous solution or does anyone else fret the E chord this way?

In the beginning, I did some crazy stuff in order to fret C# major and Bb major. A little bit later it became unnecessary. So I would advise to keep practicing all your chords. Eventually you'll get the manual dexterity.

There is no right or wrong. I think your only consideration is whether or not your E chord allows you to easily transition to other chords. In a lot of songs you move from E to A. Can you do that with your E chord? If you can, then it is fine. I would tend to think that your E chord wouldn't be very well suited to the transition, but I would happily revoke my demurring if you could prove me wrong.

As a final note, here's my E. The key of E is my home key, the one I write in and I am very comfortable in it. Here's how I do the E major. With my ring finger I fret the 2nd fret of the A string and with my index finger I fret the first fret of G string. The trick is to slant the index finger so that while it is fretting that G# on the G string it is also barely touching the C string thereby choking off its sound. The C string and the open E string are redundant. They are both an E. So just take the C string out of the equation; it makes everything a lot simpler.

Wow, thank you, it is so much easier to play your way!