Best Soprano Ukulele Strings for Studio Recording

KevinTJH

Reaction score
Hi guys,

I'm fairly new to the world of Ukuleles but not music (I'm a multi-instrumentalist).
I'm hitting the recording studio soon to work on a Ukulele album, which is basically a rendition of all my rock songs in my current album.
For the sake of quality, I splurged on a Koaloha Soprano for this task.

The existing strings actually already sound pretty darn amazing (loud and lots of clarity), but I'm accustomed to the mentality that all instruments need to have fresh brand new strings at each recording session.
Does the same apply to the nylon strings on ukuleles?

What is the absolute best out there?

Hi guys,

I'm fairly new to the world of Ukuleles but not music (I'm a multi-instrumentalist).
I'm hitting the recording studio soon to work on a Ukulele album, which is basically a rendition of all my rock songs in my current album.
For the sake of quality, I splurged on a Koaloha Soprano for this task.

The existing strings actually already sound pretty darn amazing (loud and lots of clarity), but I'm accustomed to the mentality that all instruments need to have fresh brand new strings at each recording session.
Does the same apply to the nylon strings on ukuleles?

What is the absolute best out there?

What you ask is near impossible to answer correctly, there are just too many variables.

Some Uke players do use Nylon strings but in general Fluorocarbon is, I believe, the material preferred by the the bulk of players here.

Strings take quite a while to settle and to give of their best. How long they take to do that is variable but in my experience, as a very amateur musician, it’s best to think in terms of times beyond a week.

Last edited: