How do you learn? Fingerstyle...

ghostrdr

Reaction score
So, I've been trying to get better at finger style playing. My usual is to struggle through the tabbed music sections one at a time and when I can sort of play the section at tempo to move on to the next section, until I can get to the end of the song.

So, I can play here comes the sun, but I need to have the music in front of me in order to play it. Because I haven't memorized it yet, but it sounds fine with music.

This way of learning takes a long time, and although I feel a sense of accomplishment being able to play it, it is frustrating having to have the music in order to play certain songs.

Last Sunday, I started learning You've Got a Friend in Me. in the key of F. Boy, it's a toughie. The sections I was playing was like two music bars long, so really small parts. Well, this time around, I only focused on two bars or so at a time and once I was able to do it, I kept practicing without the music in front of me. After I got comfortable I would go back and pick up 2 more bars from the music and step away again. After a week (8 days really), I can now play the entire song from memory (it is still rough in parts, but I can get through it), and from an accomplishment stand point, it is much more satisfying.

so, is this a fluke or am I onto something here? My prior was to learn the song and then work on memorizing it. This time around, I was memorizing as I go. Does anyone else have this experience?

My reading of tabs is always too slow to play anything at any sort of decent tempo. The way I get around this is to memorise EVERYTHING. I do it much like you described. I focus on a few bars per day and just loop them. I tend to get there in the end.