Ukulele Information You Can Trust

Swiftsailor98

Reaction score
First, a bit of praise for UU forums... this is about the best source of ukulele information (what to buy, what strings, how to play better, etc.) that I have found in my searches.

Okay, now on to my semi-soapbox. If I was a newbie and just interested in getting into playing the ukulele, I'd start with Google. The other day I looked up "Best Ukulele Brands". Once you got beyond the sponsored ads, you might find several articles from sites like Consordini, acoustic bridge, music critic. Each have articles that extol the "10 Best Ukulele Brands of 2020". I even searched for Best Brands for advanced players--similar results.

As I perused these lists I found about two brands that I might put into a 'Top 10' list---Kala and C.F. Martin. Their lists are filled out with solid mid-grade uke makers, of which I might put Fluke, Lanikai, Oscar Schmidt, Cordoba and Fender (and with varying opinions, maybe Luna) into that category. Then there were some brands I've never heard of...

Nowhere in any of theses lists are what I might call some of the true "Best Ukulele Brands": Kamaka, Kanile'a, KoAloha, Ko'olau, Anuenue, Rebel, Romero Creations.

If you add in the Kala and Martin that's nine! How hard is it to develop a list of 10 Best Brands without leading people astray?

So, other than this site, where do you go for ukulele information you trust?

Why is there so much misinformation out there?