Old guitar player New to ukulele

Xuka

Reaction score
Hey Uke Buddies, I started playing uke this year, I recently started picking up sad little cast-off ukes and bringing them back to life, if possible, learning as I go. It’s been fun so far.

Hi Xuka! Welcome to the UU Forums.

Sounds as though you have very worthwhile project of repairing unloved ukuleles. Wonderful!

I hope you are also having fun playing them.

Former guitarist myself; I enjoy playing ukulele and to me,that is what it is all about! Keep playing and having fun doing it!

Bravo and welcome. I Played guitar for almost 50 years when I took up the ukulele over 7 years ago, and a year later added bass uke. I haven't touched my guitars since and gave them to my nephew, a very accomplished guitarist.

This is Michael Kohan in Los Angeles, Beverly Grove near the Beverly Center
9 tenor cutaway ukes, 4 acoustic bass ukes, 12 solid body bass ukes, 14 mini electric bass guitars (Total: 39)

Donate to The Ukulele Kids Club, they provide ukuleles to children in hospital music therapy programs. www.theukc.org
Member The CC Strummers: www.youtube.com/user/CCStrummers/video, www.facebook.com/TheCCStrummers

Welcome to UU, Xuka!
Spread the uke bug!

Welcome! Many of us are old guitar players, gone over to the uke side. ;)

Hi Xuka! Welcome to the UU Forums.

Sounds as though you have very worthwhile project of repairing unloved ukuleles. Wonderful!

I hope you are also having fun playing them.

I have been writing and posting a song each week since being in lockdown (one of my pandemic projects). Mostly on guitar, but I have incorporated the ukulele into several of them. It’s been fun.

Bravo and welcome. I Played guitar for almost 50 years when I took up the ukulele over 7 years ago, and a year later added bass uke. I haven't touched my guitars since and gave them to my nephew, a very accomplished guitarist.

This is Michael Kohan in Los Angeles, Beverly Grove near the Beverly Center