Granola Bar Recipe - Food Forum

Mike $

Reaction score
I've been perfecting these for a few years now, and here is the latest and greatest iteration. I hope you try them, they're easy and delicious, and 20 times better than the store brands. You will need a scale or you can eyeball half of an 18oz. box of oats. Good luck

Ingredients:

Preheat oven to 350F and toast the following until nuts are lightly golden:
9oz Rolled or Old Fashioned Oats
1-1/3 cups Chopped Almonds, and/or Pecans, Walnuts, Peanuts...I used all of them in equal amounts

In a medium sauce pan over medium heat bring to boil then simmer until sugar dissolves:
2/3 stick of Unsalted Butter
1/2 cup of Honey
1/3 cup of packed Brown Sugar
1/4 teaspoon of Salt
1 teaspoon of real Vanilla Extract
Let the mixture set for 5 minutes

Add to toasted nuts and oats:
1 cup Rice Crispies cereal
1/2 cup chopped Cranberries (the dried type, not fresh)

add the cool mixture to the Oat/Nuts/Fruit mixture and stir until evenly coated.

Spread out evenly on a parchement lined 13X9 inch sheet pan (1/4 sheet pan) and set in oven for 10 minutes and then turn pan 180 degrees every 5 minutes thereafter until edges crisp up to a golden brown color. Allow to cool and cut into whatever size you like to deal with. I like to leave half a dozen in a plastic bag on the counter and the rest in the freezer to take out as needed.

Good luck, enjoy.

Wow! It sounds great! I'm trying to lead a healthy lifestyle and eat healthy food. Thanks for the recipe, I'll check it out!

I like this, but since I'm lactose intolerant, I'll substitute Earth Bound Vegan Unsalted Buttery Sticks. I just used that to make semi-sweet dark chocolate candy cups, came out great.

This is Michael Kohan in Los Angeles, Beverly Grove near the Beverly Center
9 tenor cutaway ukes, 4 acoustic bass ukes, 12 solid body bass ukes, 14 mini electric bass guitars (Total: 39)