One string louder than others?

de24

Reaction score
Hi-
I'm a beginner and working my way through the James Hill Booster Uke classes and enjoying them. Very clearly laid out and organized to feel like you're making steady progress.

I bought my uke about a month ago so it's fairly new. It's an Enya laminate tenor. It's still got the stock Enya strings, which I believe are fluorocarbon.

One thing I've begun to notice is that some strings are louder than others. Particularly the open strings in any given chord. It could be my playing but after poking around here and on the Internet - it seems like it could also be a need for new strings. Any advice?

In an open chord - the G and A strings are quite loud. Enough that it makes the chord sound wonky, like I'm playing the wrong thing. I can confirm that I've got the right fingering and my instrument is in tune.

Thanks in advance!

Just to double check, are you fretting the strings with the tip of your fingers? Or in other words, if you play a single string open and then fretted is the sound more or less as loud/bright? If so, then the issue might be the strings themselves as you alluded to.

The Enya stock strings have had a bad reputation, although I've heard that the stock strings on some of the newer models have been better. If you were unlucky enough to get a bad set of strings it's a good idea to try new ones. Or in any case since strings are cheap. If you like the sound otherwise it's probably best to stick with fluorocarbon. Something like Martin or Worth strings are usually decent.

In an open chord - the G and A strings are quite loud. Enough that it makes the chord sound wonky, like I'm playing the wrong thing. I can confirm that I've got the right fingering and my instrument is in tune.

If the chord sounds wrong, then I'd suggest checking the intonation of the fretted strings.
If the string tones aren't balanced, then the chord might sound muddy or overly bright, but it shouldn't sound wrong.