Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Fingerstyle "workout" suggestions?

Default Fingerstyle "workout" suggestions?

Hi All, I am relatively new to fingerstyle playing and really enjoying it. What are some things I can do to practice moving up and down the fretboard to build up some muscle memory? Any books or videos that might help with this?

Check out the spider practice with Craig Chee and Sara Maisel on utube or their site. They have several they suggest.
    Pono AS Soprano, Kaloha Long Neck Soprano
    Pono RC (C) PC Concert, Kala KA-ACP-CTG Concert (Low G), Sawchyn Concert, Kala Elite IMHG-C, Romero Creations ST Concert, Blackbird Clara
    Kala K-BE Baritone. Recording King Resonator, Stuart Wailing Resonator
    Godin Multiuke Tenor,
    Goodtime Concert Ukulele Banjo
    Outdoor Carbon Tenor
    Kona Walking Bass

Life is good, but better with a uke.

The first thing I bought after my ukulele was the Mel Bay book of ukulele scales. It listed all the scales and their modes for the re-entrant tunings. Those will keep your fingers busy for a while.

Quote Originally Posted by StumptownUke View Post
    Hi All, I am relatively new to fingerstyle playing and really enjoying it. What are some things I can do to practice moving up and down the fretboard to build up some muscle memory? Any books or videos that might help with this?
    Try

https://worldofukes.co.uk/digital-so...plore-the-neck
    Ukes:

Tinguitar Spruce top / English Walnut body Tenor with MiSi pickup 2020 (high-G)
    Mainland Classic Mahogany Tenor 2018 (low-G)
    Motu in Cherry Plywood 2019
    Tinguitar English Plane top / Khaya solid body electro Baritone / Guitar 19.75" scale hybrid (EADG tuning) (on order) ... that's a mouthful!

Perhaps you might find some help in Ukulele Aerobics by Chad Johnson, just a suggestion for investigation.