Jazz Music Book ?

Beasty_Artemis

Reaction score
Hey there! I'm a total noob, but I was hoping to be able to play jazz someday....
Are there any books out there I might consider?

Glen Rose's books are cheap and effective, if you have the temperament for them. Here's what I mean by that: his methodology is to eschew theory and technical aspects, and just play groups of chord shapes which are the building blocks of jazz songs. Because of personal issues, I couldn't abide that. So I went off by myself and learned theory and the why's and wherefore's of jazz and figured out the best way to play. Guess what? After all that trouble, I came to the same solution that Glen had offered. I don't regret what I did; I had to do it my own way. However, if you can just do what Glen Rose advises, it will put you into a good place for playing jazz standards.

You've gotten solid recommendations. I use all of them, but if you're at the exploration stage, here's something to try without cost: search online for a list of American Standards and then find the tabs on Dr. Uke's website.

https://www.doctoruke.com/index.html

That will get your feet wet. Many of Dr. Uke's tabs utilize jazz voicings. That won't get you all the way "there," but it's an effective introduction to jazz chords shapes and typical progressions. He usually sticks to first position play.

Glenn Rose makes it all seem so easy and you'll work up and down the neck. I really appreciate his straightforward style:

https://www.glenrosejazz.com/jazzy-ukulele.html

That was my starting point. I treasure Lyle Ritz's orange book, but early on it was too challenging for me and I had to set it aside and defaulted to Dr. Uke. My hands required more time to build strength and get comfortable with the chord shapes. Time has passed and I'm able to work on the orange book without frustration.

So many approaches and so much fun to be had.

Cheers, Bluesy.

Ditto Glen Rose. Sarah Maisel and Craig Chee on Artistworks are also great.