Hello to all of UU

electrocio

Reaction score
I stared out with bass at first but didn't follow though at first then years later I started playing in a Latin church band as a backup. About 1 year later I joined a band as a singer and picked up guitar to write songs and eventually play rhythm. I have never learned play many other peoples songs on guitar; basically only originals and covers that we would preform. During band jam sessions I always played bass haha. After the band split up I left to study photography (was supposed be a side thing) and I haven't really played guitar in over 20 years now.

Every now and then I pick up one of my basses and have some stress reliving fun by myself. My wife knows I used to play bass and guitar and thought it might be nice If I could teach our daughter to play uke when she gets older. I have always thought about picking up the uke so I plan on going the tenor route; 5 string gGCEA.

my collection so far consists of:
-Vintage Spanish classical guitar
- Fender telecaster American special (nothing like a standard telecaster)
- Gibson EB-1 fretless (conversion?)
- Quest bass (25.5 scale)
- Dean cheapo acoustic bass (with nylon wound string; the strings make it sound good)
- Puertorican cuatro.

P.S So far I have strung my 25.5 scale bass in gCEA to begin learning cords and stuff. I've played cords on bass before so I had a good idea what it would sound and play like.

Welcome. I hope your journey into ukulele is just as fun and interesting.

And your daughter enjoys it as well.

Welcome to UU, electrocio!
The ukulele is too much fun, if that 's possible. Well, it is addictive, for certain.

Welcome, nice assortment of instruments. Got a question. Fretless electric bases or somewhat new. My brother played in a band with Jaco Pastorius, I believe he instigated that. Uprights have been fretless for years from the beginning. Wonder why the electric bases didn't start out fretless.