Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Do I want a Concert-size Uke? Why?

Default Do I want a Concert-size Uke? Why?

Coming to Ukulele as a long-time guitarist, I've focused exclusively on Tenors, because that was the largest size that employed g/G C E A tuning. I have no interest in getting a Baritone (too guitar-like, and I have a Plectrum Banjo tuned that way anyway) or a Soprano (too small). Should I consider getting a Concert? Why? What would it give me that my Tenors don't?
    "Thanks, but you should have heard what I was trying to play!" - T. Monk

Quote Originally Posted by Tom Karol View Post
    Coming to Ukulele as a long-time guitarist, I've focused exclusively on Tenors, because that was the largest size that employed g/G C E A tuning. I have no interest in getting a Baritone (too guitar-like, and I have a Plectrum Banjo tuned that way anyway) or a Soprano (too small). Should I consider getting a Concert? Why? What would it give me that my Tenors don't?
    It will give you variation in size and a slightly different sound. I like a variety of sizes, so I have them all, but not baritone. Don't expect anything radically different from a concert.
    Too many ukes, but I can't stop buying!
    https://www.catskillukulelegroup.com/

I've found that, compared to tenors, concerts provide a livelier, chimey sound, closer to soprano, especially strung reentrant. I have a concert Flea, and play songs I previously played on soprano on it. To me, the sound is more soprano-like, but with more room on the fretboard.
    John

Get a tenor scaled soprano, Ohana make a great solid mahogany one.
    Trying to do justice to various musical instruments.

If you don't know if you want it, you probably dont want it bad enough.

A concert is closer to a soprano than a tenor in tension and somewhere in the middle in sound profile.