Fret Board on Sound Board

AstroEd42

Reaction score
Hello
I'm new to the forum and Ukulele building. I have been reading books and viewing You-Tube videos on Ukulele building. I'm not a musician in any form. I've started a Tenor build as a gift to my son-in-law. After seeing different ukuleles I want to go with a domed top and bottom. I feel I have the skills to do this. In laying out what I have to do, I've run into a snag. I've seen in books and videos that with a flat sound board the Fret Board is even with the sound board, and is clamped and glued together along with the neck. Being I want a domed sound board, I haven't seen anywhere how the neck and fret board meet the domed sound board. Is the underside of the fret board shaped to fit the sound board radius in that area? Is the neck and fret board put on high enough to clear the highest part of the radius? I don't have a clue. I looked at many images to try and see how this area is treated, but to no avail. any help will be greatly appreciated.
Thank you
Regards
Ed

After seeing different ukuleles I want to go with a domed top and bottom. Ed

Hi Ed and welcome to ukulele building. It's a lot of fun.

My advice for a first time builder is to NOT radius (dome) the soundboard. You can build a perfectly good, even great sounding ukulele with a flat top. By radiusing the the top you bring in all sorts of issues you might not want to deal with down the line in the build. For instance, you will have to radius your bridge to match the radius of the top. Do you want to radius the fretboard also? The sides will also have to have a radius to match the top when it comes time to glue the top to the sides and all this requires a radius sanding dish. By all means, radius the back because there are less issues than with the top and I believe it helps the sound.