Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tenor uke neck thickness?

Default Tenor uke neck thickness?

Hi all, I'm drawing up plans for a tenor uke build and need some help with neck thicknesses. I'm a classical guitar builder and thought I'd start building ukes as a hobby (I might have a problem if my hobby is nearly identical to my job...).

I don't have a tenor ukulele nor a published plan but the only information I need to complete my own is the thickness of a typical tenor ukulele neck at the first fret (including fretboard if possible) as well as the thickness of the neck at the 9th fret. This uke will have 12 frets to the body with a 35mm nut width so if anyone has/can take these measurements for a similar sized neck I would be very grateful!

I make mine at 20-21 at the first fret and 22-23 at fret 10.
    The neck is quite narrow at 35 mm so the thickness is less important than on a guitar.

Thanks Alain, I'm surprised by your figures as that's only 1mm thinner than I make my classical guitar necks. I seem to recall the tenors I've played having noticeably thinner necks than guitars, is that unique to the instruments I've played?

I aim for 13-14 mm at the nut and 15mm right before the heel transition - that's just for the neck. Another 5-6mm for the fretboard.

Quote Originally Posted by brianI View Post
    This uke will have 12 frets to the body
    Why 12 frets to the body? Not saying you can't and some do, but most are 14.

Quote Originally Posted by sequoia View Post
    Why 12 frets to the body? Not saying you can't and some do, but most are 14.
    Aesthetically I'm working in the classical guitar realm (not building them identical to guitars, don't worry!), think Pepe Romero junior's ukuleles. I also am a big fan of Hive ukuleles and the two I've played and many that I've seen have been 12 fret. I know he makes 14 fret versions as well but for my aesthetic and musical sensibilities I prefer 12 fret instruments

Quote Originally Posted by brianI View Post