Questions about Tenor ukes with wound strings

Sabicas

Reaction score
I'm mainly a guitarist but I've really started enjoying my baritone uke. I play flamenco and classical guitar and like the refreshing change of playing in the higher register when putting a capo on the 5th fret, resulting in a low G GCEA tuning.

The problem is that the bari+capo only has access to 9 frets and the intonation suffers. So, I'm thinking of getting a good tenor but, from what I see, the strings are all unwound and look really thin. I'd actually like it to sound like my bari+capo. As well, I like the feel of the bari strings which is similar to a guitar in tension and gauge.

Can I put baritone strings on a tenor and just tune them up to GCEA? Is it too much tension or will the nut and bridge need to be modified? Are there heavy "low G" tenor sets with two wound strings?

I'd normally just go into a store and try out tenors to see if I like the thinner unwound strings, but I've called around and that's just not possible right now due to lockdown. If it matters, I'm looking online at two models, the Kala KA-SRT-SC with the scalloped cutaway and the Flight Victoria.

Thanks for any suggestions!

Last edited:
The standard tuning for a Tenor ukulele is gCEA; the same as for Concert and Soprano. Baritone is the only ukulele that is DGBE.

The little "g" means a reentrant (1 octave higher) G. You can buy a single low G string to make it GCEA.

Personally, I use a D'Addario .029w for Tenor low G.

I hope this helps.

-Wiggy

Last edited:
There are GCEA (and gCEA) string sets available for baritone ukulele. UkeLogic comes to mind. They have several different sets with varying tension/thicknesses.

The standard tuning for a Tenor ukulele is gCEA; the same as for Concert and Soprano. Baritone is the only ukulele that is DGBE.

The little "g" means a reentrant (1 octave higher) G. You can buy a low G string, specifically for Tenor, to make it GCEA.