Missing nut, confused on measurement

Prelude823

Reaction score
I'm a newbie and am trying to repair my grandmother's old ukulele. It's missing a nut and seems to measure 33mm where it would be. I've not had much luck finding a 33mm nut. Is that not a common measurement? Any guidance would be appreciated!

I have no idea what brand it is. I don't think it's a particularly high-quality instrument but it has sentimental value.

You can get nuts on Amazon and eBay in different colors, materials, and sizes. In most cases, the nut must be cut to fit - shorter and not so high. I'm sure you will get more detailed answers.

If you tell us the make and model, someone might have specific information.

You can get nuts on Amazon and eBay in different colors, materials, and sizes. In most cases, the nut must be cut to fit - shorter and not so high. I'm sure you will get more detailed answers.

If you tell us the make and model, someone might have specific information.

That's helpful! It would explain why most I found are 35mm so you can trim it down to size. There is literally no marking on the instrument so I don't have a clue as to the make and model.

In my experience 33 mm is a little narrow but not unheard of.

Measure the distance between the two outermost strings. See if you can find the string spacing for the nuts you're considering, and determine how close it is to your existing spacing. When making a precut nut narrower, you sometimes run into string spacing issues relative to the edges of the fretboard. Two mm difference should be OK but might be cutting it close. Then again, if you can't find the string spacing info on nuts listed for sale, they're usually very cheap so you can try just buying a few to see how they measure up in person.