Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Beginning Baritone Music Theory Question

Default Beginning Baritone Music Theory Question

I am very new to playing instruments and music theory, so forgive me if I am not making sense.

Why does The Daily Ukulele Book Leap Year Edition by Liz and Jim Beloff song book have songs with melody notes below D?

I have the The Daily Ukulele Book Leap Year Edition for standard ukes and I recently bought the baritone version. The melody notes are the same for both books. The chords are different.

But what's the point of having a baritone version of the book if you can't play the melody notes on the baritone?

Thanks in advance!

Can you post an image from the baritone DU-LYE book of the D note you think is too low to play on a baritone? I can't imagine the book would have any melody notes lower than what you can play on the bottom (D) string of a baritone ukulele.

I attached a photo of an example from the book. How do I play that note on my baritone uke?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by TodR; 01-21-2021 at 11:02 AM.

The book has many songs with notes below D, about 50% are that way. I know how to play those low notes with my low-G tenor. There is a statement in the book that states "the whole point of the book is to allow both C-tuned and G-tuned ukes to play together." As a beginner I don't even know what that means. It's just weird they have BARITONE in big red letters on the cover but half the songs include notes not playable on a baritone.

I was also looking at the Ukulele Fretboard Roadmaps - Baritone Ukulele by Fred Soklow & Jim Beloff. A sample page on the Hal Leonard site shows the same thing of notes below D.

Does the book specify that all melody lines is arranged for the ukulele?

Lots of "fake books" have lead sheets with staff music for the melody, intended for singing. And then the chords you can play on whatever instrument you prefer posted above.