Sears Supertone Identification

mnuk

Reaction score
I have the Sears Supertone Uke shown in the pictures below, but I am very new to instruments and playing the Uke. I am only about 2 months in of playing this one so learning everyday.

But as I read about the different Uke's on here it got me interested in more information people might have on this model:

From the label in the sound hole I can see it is a Sears Supertone, and based on reading on here it is a 1920 or 1930s model.

-Would this be mahogany wood?
-Any way to tell what year it would be from?
-Just learning it doesn't matter too much, but is this a decent quality Uke?
-Any idea how much they are worth, just wondering if it was worth what I paid for it?

Thanks to info on this site I was able to re-glue the bridge and adjust the height of the strings which has helped it stay in tune for sure!

Last edited:
I think Sears used "Supertone" up until the 1940's but I don't remember where I got that information. This looks to me like a 30's - 40's ukulele but I am not aware of a way to pin it down. The quality is quite good on these ukuleles and although it is not mahogany (it is birch), I bet it sounds great and plays well.

How much is it worth? Well, if you enjoy it and it didn't put you in the poor house, you got a good deal.

Thanks for the additional information, I was wondering if it might be birch but I wasn't sure how to tell. I am pretty sure all the sound issues at this point are from my inability and not the ukulele, hopefully at some point I can get to the point where I can notice the difference between a good one and bad one with my playing.

I thought I had read somewhere that in the 30s they went with the harmony brand name rather than the sears, but maybe that wasn't the case.

Looks really nice, enjoy! If it has wood tuning pegs, I would think it's very early 30's or even 20's. And, I'd say it's mahogany...

Last edited: