Can anyone help me understand the "beat" pattern hear?

Elysium82

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I don't even know what the term is. I use "beat pattern" in the title, but that might be far from what it is.

Basically, I am trying to understand is that using the 4/4 beat measures, what each strum represents.

delete.jpg

Here is the video (starts at 00:26): https://youtu.be/jR7FAlyJvJc

NOTE. No, I am not trying to make her popular. She is already popular and wouldn't need my help. I am just a newbie who is seriously committed to this "learn the ukulele while the virus is raging outside" idea.

I'd say:

1-D 2-DU 3-D 4-UD= 4/4, right?

1-U 2-UDU 3-UDU, but then there isn't a 4th here.

It feels like I know what I am doing, but I would like to understand the theory behind it.

Thanks.

In 4/4 the 18th notes are most often counted using the word "and" between the 1/4 note beats.
So eight 1/8th notes would be thought of as 1 and 2 and 3 and 4 and. or 1 & 2 & 3 & 4 &.

The pattern (at least in the first section) has 1/8 notes that are tied across the beats. This moves the accented or notes played with emphasis to the "ands".

notes01.jpg

Written in notation it would look like this.

The G7 chord is played on the last (4th) and of the first bar, and held over to the and of beat 1 in bar 2.

4/4 or C (common time) means four beats per measure. 4 quarter notes. One measure is between the vertical lines: |1, 2, 3, 4| Strum: D, D, D, D
But you can have 1/8th notes as well. It takes the same total time to play: |1&, 2&, 3&, 4&| Strum: DU, DU, DU, DU
You can have variations of this: D DU DU DU; D D DU DU; D D D DU; U D DU DU; D DU U DU; etc. ALL of these take the same amount of time, 4 beats, to play.