Recording with Audacity

plunker

Reaction score
Anybody have any idea if this is enough of a computer for recording on audacity
Intel I 3 processor 10110u cpu @ 2.10 ghz 2.59 ghz

RAM 8.0 gb 7.84 usable

64 bit operating
The recording bar stops every now and then when recording.

I'm not an expert, yet that's definitely a very low powered computer for the task. People in the business are definitely using the most powerful computers that they can get their hands on for running Audacity.

I can't answer your question directly but, heck, you can multi-track on an iPad with GargageBand, so audio recording isn't that demanding of a modern computer just as long you're not mixing more than 8 tracks or running a bunch of plugins. I ran 16 tracks on a 2012 Mac Mini (i7) many times with 2 or 3 plugins per track in Logic Pro and Digital Performer without problems. On the other hand, video editing, especially with several camera feeds, a few plugins and audio tracks can bog down even fast computers.

Those specs shouldn't be a problem, I've used much slower/lower specified machines with no issues, but they had direct audio inputs for a microphone.
If you're using a USB interface, therein may lie your problem. The only audio-in USB device I've tried was incredibly "laggy", I abandoned it and reverted to an older machine ;)
Also, if you're using a "modern" operating system eg. Windows 10, the "built-in" Defender anti-virus software can be very "aggressive" and really does affect performance when reading or writing a lot of data. You can configure Defender to ignore specific programs or file-types, if indeed you're using Windows 10, else look into the configuration of any anti-virus software you're using to see if it can be adjusted.