your 1st song

Probably I's The B'y in F. 2 chords - F and C7

I like to show folks the C, Am, F, G7 progression,
-starting with the ring finger C (0003),
-then the bird finger Am (2000),
-then, leaving the bird finger on the 2nd fret, drop the index finger onto the 1st fret of the 2nd string making the F (2010),
-then, leaving the index on the 2nd string, move the bird and ring fingers to make the G7 (0212),
-then remove the index and bird fingers and slide the ring up a fret to repeat the sequence.

I know this is a long, overly detailed way of describing what is very simple to most uke players, but doing it this way makes it very simple for absolute beginners.

Ricky Nelson's Poor Little Fool can be sung with four beats to each chord.
Songs like Twenty-six Miles Across The Sea or Blue Moon use two beats per chord.
Google "I, vi, IV, V songs" for more songs that can be sung with these changes.

Last edited:
The first song I played was "Lime in the Coconut".

It really only has one chord, C7, but I wanted to focus on learning a few strumming patterns and chucking technique before learning more chords.

I was just shy of 55 and as soon as I was able to strum and sing Clementine, I ran into the bedroom where my hubby was snoozing and sang it to him, bedside. He was amazed. Not kidding, he was amazed and thought it was great. :nana:

Probably 'Ain't She Sweet' or 'Five Foot Two'. Long time ago though so memory may be faulty!

A NOFX song called "Eat the Meek"

My first song was "Have You Ever Seen the Rain" by CCR. Most CCR songs only have a few chords and were good for starting out.

I'm surprised no one has mentioned "Somewhere Over the Rainbow" yet ;-)
Mine was one of my favourites, Harry Belafonte's "Jamaica Farewell."

It was Christmas eve, so.. carols.