Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Martin Tenor Uke Unhappy

Default Martin Tenor Uke Unhappy

Hello,
    I am relatively new to Ukuleles but have been playing guitars for many years. I have a Martin style O soprano from the 1920’s, Martin C1K, and now a recently purchased Martin T1K. I love both the Style O and the C1K (low G), I thought based on all the positive reviews I would love the T1K but it still hasn’t grown on me. Both the style o and the C1K are super resonant and warm. The T1K is anemic. The string tension on It, is ridiculous to where it’s actually dampening the sustain and tone. I have it in standard tuning GCEA. The C1K is more full bodied even when I had a high G on it. Is there a set of strings I can put on with less tension? There is no resonance to this Uke. Thanks
    Last edited by Towser; 04-11-2021 at 02:13 PM.

One other option to consider is tuning the tenor down a half or full step (B or Bb tuning). That can really improve the feel and resonance of many tenors

Thanks, I’ll give that a try.

I am surprised that there is such difference between c1k and t1k. If the sound is weak and anemic that points more to a need for higher tension. Have you thought about upgrading to the new Martin premium strings or Aquila reds?

I had the opportunity of playing both, C1K and T1K, side by side once. I was going to purchase once of them, their prices are not too different. I really wanted to buy the tenor but the more I played them, the more the C1K outshined the T1K. I, of course, bought the concert size.

So, it's not just you, the C1K is better than the T1K. IMO.

Eugenio

Quote Originally Posted by emarcano View Post
    I had the opportunity of playing both, C1K and T1K, side by side once. I was going to purchase once of them, their prices are not too different. I really wanted to buy the tenor but the more I played them, the more the C1K outshined the T1K. I, of course, bought the concert size.